Law Digest

Nancy Lawson, a partner in Dinsmore & Shohl's Cincinnati office, was recently named coordinator for the State of Ohio for iCivics, a web-based education project designed to reinvigorate civics and law-related education initiatives. As state coordinator, Lawson will help promote and coordinate iCivics' initiatives in the Ohio school systems curriculum.

Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP announced that six attorneys from the Cincinnati office were recognized among the leading practitioners in the country by Chambers and Partners in the 2010 Chambers USA. The attorneys are: Melvin A. Bedree, Hani R. Kallas, Daniel J. Buckley, Glenn V. Whitaker, Mark A. Norman and William D. Hayes.

Frost Brown Todd Attorney Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III, former American Bar Association treasurer and past-president of the Kentucky Bar Association, was sworn in as president-elect of the ABA. Robinson will represent the ABA as president-elect leading to his term as president in August 2011-12.

Thomas Terp, chairman of the executive committee and managing partner of Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP, has been listed in The International Who's Who of Environmental Lawyers for the sixth year in a row. He has concentrated his practice on environmental matters and commercial litigation for more than 30 years and has been with Taft since 1973.

Business/Economic Development Digest

Cassidy Turley announced that Associate Vice President Jordan Weidner earned the Certified Commercial Investment Member (CCIM) designation conferred by the CCIM Institute, which is awarded upon completion of a graduate-level curriculum and proof of a level of qualifying experience. CCIMs are recognized experts in commercial real estate brokerage, leasing, asset management, valuation and investment analysis.

The Sharonville Chamber of Commerce announced the addition of Bob Pautke as the new membership and marketing coordinator. Pautke, a resident of Pierce Township, will work to attract and retain chamber members.

SkillSource, a Blue Ash-based business consultancy, announced that Preston Bowles has been named chief operating officer. Bowles is a Procter & Gamble alumnus and turnaround specialist who has revitalized six Ohio businesses across three product and service sectors.

The Christ Hospital placed among the top 50 hospitals nationwide in U.S. News & World Report's 2010-11 Best Hospitals guide, as well as among the top 50 nationally for pulmonology. The report ranks 152 medical centers nationwide in 16 specialties, with full data available online for another 1,740 that are unranked.

Vision 2015 announced that Nancy Costello was hired as an initiatives coordinator focusing on education. Costello's first assignment will be to support the work of the newly reorganized Northern Kentucky Education Council.

First Financial Wealth Resource welcomed Kimberly Mayhew as vice president and trust officer (downtown Hamilton office), Michele Bertaux as vice president and senior wealth planner (Cornerstone office), Dustin Swigart as a mortgage loan originator (Middletown office) and Cindy A. Mustard as a vice president and senior relationship manager (Union Centre office).

Two Drake Center employees are among the honorees of the College of Mt. St. Joseph's Physical Therapy Community Awards for 2010. Kari Dunning, PT, Ph.D., director of clinical research at Drake, was named Distinguished Physical Therapy Researcher, and Shannon Dunn, director of rehab services at Drake, was named Distinguished Physical Therapy Administrator.

Cincinnati Ballet and its board of trustees announced the promotion of Missie Santomo to the new position of managing director, overseeing marketing, development and production. Santomo selected Stacey Recht Czar to take over as marketing and communications director.

Education Digest

Gregory S. Sojka, Ph.D., was named the dean of Clermont College effective July 1. Sojka has held administrative and faculty positions at Wichita State University, the University of Wyoming, Casper College Center Lewis-Clark State College (Lewiston, Idaho) and the University of Rio Grande (Rio Grande, Ohio).

Northern Kentucky University Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Dr. Gail Wells was the 2010 winner of the William M. Plater Award, given for exemplary leadership in advancing civic engagement in higher education.

Elizabeth Groppe, an associate professor of theology at Xavier University, was awarded a $40,000 grant from the Louisville Institute for a research sabbatical from Jan. 1 to Aug. 31, 2011 to research a book entitled "Guarding the Flame of the Grandeur of God: Christian Life and Practice in an Era of Ecological Crisis."

NKU announced that Chase College of Law Professor Richard Bales was selected as the 2010 Frank Sinton Milburn Outstanding Professor. Bales is an innovator in the classroom, an accomplished scholar, mentor of student scholars and a university citizen who gives his time to student work, university service and public engagement.

A $400,000 grant from the U.S. Department of Education will support a two-year University of Cincinnati research project to build and enhance student learning in science, particularly elementary and middle-school aged children with learning disabilities and behavioral disorders.

Xavier was ranked 121st in the country by Forbes magazine and the Center for College Affordability and Productivity (CCAP) as one of America's best colleges, up from 196th last year and 225th the year before that. The CCAP ranked 610 undergraduate institutions based on the quality of the education they provide, the experience of the students and how much they achieve.

The Northern Kentucky University Haile/US Bank College of Business announced that management professor and former dean Dr. Michael Carrell was selected as the recipient of the 2010 Labor-Management Lifetime Achievement Award. Each year the NKU Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service's Labor-Management Conference recognizes an individual who has made major contributions to labor relations, collective bargaining and improving relationships among unions and management.